City Council confirms its Vice Mayor, Mayor Pro Tem and committee positions

Meeting for the first time in 2023, the Sacramento City Council on Tuesday confirmed the Mayor Darrell Steinberg’s appointments for Council leadership posts, committees and commissions.

Steinberg named Councilmember Eric Guerra (District 6) as Vice Mayor and Councilmember Mai Vang (District 8) as Mayor Pro Tempore for 2023. Vice Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore appointments typically last for a calendar year.

The Vice Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore chair meetings in the Mayor’s absence and often represent the City in public if the Mayor is unable to be present. Newly elected California State Senator Angelique Ashby served as Vice Mayor in 2022, and Guerra was Mayor Pro Tempore.

“These titles are honorary and substantive,” Steinberg said. “We’ve got a great team and we will move forward together.”

Other appointments approved at Council were for the formal committees that make up the governance structure of the Sacramento City Council. Those committees are Law & Legislation, Personnel & Public Employees, Budget & Audit and the Racial Equity Committee.

All of Steinberg’s appointments were unanimously approved by his colleagues on the City Council. Here is a list of committee appointments:

• Law & Legislation: Lisa Kaplan, Katie Valenzuela (Chair), Eric Guerra, and Rick Jennings
• Personnel & Public Employees: Lisa Kaplan (Chair), Sean Loloee, Katie Valenzuela, and Caity Maple
• Budget & Audit: Karina Talamantes, Eric Guerra, Mai Vang, and Mayor Darrell Steinberg (Chair)
• Racial Equity: Caity Maple, Rick Jennings, Mai Vang (Co-Chair), and Mayor Darrell Steinberg (Co-Chair)

%d bloggers like this: